The Birds and the Bees – Literally!

Today was such a beautiful day after all the rain we’ve had recently. Yesterday we had noticed some larger birds near the bird feeder and I took some pictures of them. They were called Golden-crested Sparrows. They’re bigger than regular Sparrows. Of course, while I was looking out the window, an Oriole flew into the Bottle Brush bush, but I couldn’t get the camera out fast enough! I took lots of photos of the Golden-crested Sparrow and this is the one I like best.

As I mentioned before, today was such a beautiful day that I asked John to bring the grill out onto the patio. As I was wiping the grill down I could hear a very distinct hum of insects. As I walked into the back yard, I noticed the sound seemed to be coming from the goat yard. As I neared the gate, the hum was quite loud and I looked up and saw the swarm of bees!

I quickly ran back into the house to tell John – (of course, I used as few words as possible so as to communicate in the most efficient manner!) and I also ran to put on more protective clothing. John, being the protector that he is (and I appreciate him for it) told me to stay in the house with the dog while he investigated. He came back to tell me there was a football sized hive of bees. I just couldn’t stay away! I just had to get some pictures.

John told me to be very careful and to walk up the back steps. We were so cautious, but I had the 70-300 mm lens and we didn’t have to get very close.

There were so many bees! The swarm was about the size of a basketball.

Later in the evening I went outside to get more pictures because the light was better (or worse!) and took a photo with the 18-55 mm lens just so I could get a picture of the size of the entire swarm. It was about the size of a heart shaped mylar balloon.

 

Oddly, as I was looking through the photos I noticed my camera caught the bee-hind of a bee flying into the swarm.

I’ve posted all these pictures to my Facebook page and John told me to tag the bee’s behind (get-it?). That made me laugh so much.
Here’s another good photo of the bees.

It was quite an amazing day.

After posting the pictures, my sister-in-law, Melanie told me there were some Bee Society members at the Gardens where she works. They had a website that listed volunteer beekeepers that will come to get your swarm of bees. They’re coming tomorrow morning, early, to pick them up. More photos to follow!

This entry was posted in Animals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

