The Aebleskiver Pan

After having watched Julie & Julia I wanted to find a copy of Mastering the Art of French Cooking. So we went to the local Salvation Army store. They didn’t have a copy, so we tried Thrift Town, across the street. They didn’t have it either, but we did look in both places for cast iron cookware. And this is what we found…

This is called an Aebleskiver or Ebelskiver pan. It’s very heavy and cost me $4.99. I’m very happy because I’ve checked eBay and they’re selling for as much as $80.00. I did scrub it with a little steel wool because it was a little sticky.
Of course, I had to try it out so after a quick search on the internet, I found a simple recipe.
I filled up the wells and then watched them cook like a pancake. They had to get kind of bubbly on the top and then I flipped them over with chopsticks.
This is what they looked like after I flipped them. Not bad for the first try!

 

These were very nice dusted with powdered sugar.


 

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

