The Fritatta Pan

Lately, I’ve been in a Fritatta mood.

Up until about a month ago, I had never heard of fritatta. I knew it was made with eggs, and that’s about it. But then, I received a Williams-Sonoma catalog, and there was a picture of a delicious looking fritatta and two pans that fit together, like a clam shell and both sides had a non-stick coating. On the Williams-Sonoma website, there was also a video that offered instruction as to making a fritatta. The pan was about $99.00 for the 8″ pan. The fritatta looked so good, and the recipe said you could also use a cast iron skillet, I pulled out my cast iron skillet with a huge “8” on the bottom. My first attempt at fritatta making was very good – except for the fact it did not come out of the skillet easily. I could see I was scraping the seasoning from the pan as I tried to plate the fritatta. John, who takes such good care of my cast iron, had a difficult time of cleaning the pan. I think I made 3 fritatta in one week, with each one becoming more and more difficult to remove from the cast iron skillet. So I bought the 8″ pan. I think it lasted about 2 days here with me thinking about how tiny it was. It said it would feed 4 to 6. I don’t think they meant adults. I think they meant it would feed 4 to 6 children under the age of 4. Sadly, I took it back. I happen to love Williams-Sonoma very much.

On the way home, I stopped by Target. The fritatta pan of my dreams lived there…

I found this pan – Calphalon, non-stick 12″ skillet with cover. $39.99. And a 20 Year Warranty. I’m thinking the pan may outlast me!

I took it home and washed it and then used it.

I cut up some nice applewood smoked bacon and fried it. It smelled like bacon does when you’re camping outdoors. After it was cooked, I set it aside.

While it was cooking, I chopped up some zucchini and onions. After the bacon was cooked, I sautéed the zucchini and onion in the bacon dripping. I had some spinach so I added that too. Next time I will leave it out.

Then, I added the bacon back in…

I poured the eggs over the top. Then I added 2 kinds of cheese. In copious amounts.

I baked it in the oven at 350° for about 18 minutes. It just slid out from the pan so nicely. Thank you!

Let me tell you, there is nothing better on a Sunday morning when you’re rushing out the door to get to church on time for a sound check!

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

