National Shortbread Day – January 6

So, tomorrow is National Shortbread Day. My shortbread is in the oven.

I love the crisp texture of shortbread. I like it with chocolate drizzled on top. I like it as the crust for lemon meringue pie. The best lemon meringue shortbread crust pie was found in Juneau, Alaska.

My husband and I were taking a vacation in Alaska on a cruise and we were waiting to go on a seaplane to a grilled Alaskan Salmon Fish Feast. It was cold and drizzly outside and we were early getting to where we needed to go. We had a choice of sitting in a waiting room or going up the street to get a cup of coffee or tea. Lord knows we had plenty to eat on the ship, were going to a salmon feast, and really didn’t need to eat another bite. However, we walked past this cute little cafe, so we walked back there to see what there was to see.

When we walked through the door a woman was coming out of the kitchen in the back with a beautiful lemon meringue tart. I just HAD to have a piece – so I ordered one. It was still warm. The meringue was beautiful, golden brown, and swirly. Had I known then what I know now, I would have taken a picture of it before I ate it. It was so delicious. As I paid my bill, the woman asked me if there was anything else she could get for us. I told her, “Yes, the recipe!”. She smiled and gave me a recipe card for the shortbread crust, which I put away for safekeeping until we returned home. If you are ever in Juneau, you must go to the Paradise Cafe and Bakery.

Outside the Paradise Bakery. You can see the ship in the background.

Inside the Paradise Cafe and Bakery

Here’s the recipe:

1/2 pound butter, softened
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 3/4 cups flour

Cream butter and sugars together, then add flour. Press into a 13 x 9 inch baking pan.
Bake at 350° for 10 minutes.

Here’s the finished Shortbread. I used a larger pan because everyone at work is trying to loose weight after Christmas.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, National Food Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

