Curing Olives

Curing olives is like chocolate to Forrest Gump. You never know what you’re going to get.

We have 2 olive trees at our house and they make a terrible mess in the driveway each year. One year I had a crazy idea – figure out how to cure olives. There are 2 methods that I know of to cure them. One is by brining them in salt, the other is a dry cure with salt. I have yet to try the dry cure method.

The first attempt at making olives was a huge success! Then, the following year, all the olives were bumpy and spotted. I tried using them but they tasted horrible. The next year I had a bright idea to throw some green ones into the mix and it was terrible. The red ones were bitter, and the green ones were even more so. A year or two after that, there were not many olives on the tree.

Step one is to pick the olives. This year was a great year for olives it seems. The trees were loaded with olives.

However my olive picking was cut short due to the goats escaping through the fence, coming to spend some time with me. I had to stop, call John to help me get them back in the fence, and then wait for John to close their escape route. After he fixed the point of escape, he told me I would have to come in because it was too tempting for the goats.

I didn’t weigh the olives I picked but it I was happy with the amount. I washed them and then took a paring knife and cut a small slash in each olive. For the next 3 weeks the olives would be brining in a large glass jar, mixed with 4 tablespoons of salt and 2 quarts of water. Each week I would drain the olives, rinse them, and then make a fresh brine solution.

After 3 weeks, the olives are ready for their marinade.

I just love the color of them. I rinsed them well and let them drain in a colander. To my big glass jar I added 1 1/2 cups of white wine vinegar. Then I blended 2 cups of water and 1 tablespoon of salt and added that to the jar as well.

Then I added some oregano. Yikes my hand is very wrinkled and red.

Then I added some fresh garlic.

Finally, I added some fresh lemon.

I added the olives to the jar and covered the top of the olives with about 2 inches of olive oil.

They are going to marinate for a few days in my pantry. I’m hoping that this year proves to be another successful year!

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

