Golden Gate Sunset

Coming home from work on Friday I noticed the sun was above the Golden Gate bridge at such an angle that I thought it might set in the middle of the bridge. I called John to see if we might be able to skeedaddle out of the house quickly to try and catch a photo of the sunset and the bridge. However, traffic was very heavy headed toward San Francisco and we were both pretty tired after working all day. So, John suggested we try doing this on Saturday.

At the last minute, I remembered I had a software application that would tell me where the sun would be setting, so I was then able to figure out the best place to take the photo. We left the house with our map, my tripod and camera.

Here we are in the original spot I selected. I thought it was a pretty neat spot.

Based on the position of the sun in the sky, John said we needed to move from the spot I had chosen. I am so glad I listened to him. We packed up and moved a little north from the place we had been.

The sunset was just beautiful. I’m just going to let the pictures speak for themselves.

San Francisco Skyline at Sunset

Golden Gate Bridge

A small sliver of the sun is still visible.

 

This entry was posted in Photography, Sunset and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Golden Gate Sunset

  1. Wendy says:

    Really great set of photos. I think I actually like the ones with just a sliver better. Though the big red shot is absolutely fabulous, the rest of the scene is overwhelmed by the intense red. It’s great to see them as a set.

Leave a Reply

