National Homemade Soup Day – February 4 – Creamy Tomato Soup

IMG_3037_1

“This is the BEST soup I’ve ever had in my entire life”, declared my husband. Now, can you get any higher recommendation than that? In preparation for National Homemade Soup Day, I decided to try a recipe from King Arthur Flour.

If you know King Arthur Flour, you already love them. If you don’t know them, visit their website. They have so many fantastic recipes and items that will inspire you.

Here are the ingredients to make Creamy Tomato Soup. Except one. The chicken broth is missing because I used the last can to make this soup. You can use bullion and water, I’m sure. Or you can use chicken stock. So close your eyes and imagine the can of chicken broth in the picture. I also diverged from the original recipe and used heavy cream instead of the can of evaporated milk. I know that it’s Half & Half in the photo, but the heavy cream carton was opened and I thought the closed carton of Half & Half would look better. (Now you know the whole truth!)

IMG_3050

I digress…

Meanwhile, this soup was easy to make after a whole day spent at the office. The smell of the chopped onions cooking in the butter was fantastic. The simmering tomatoes just added another depth to the entire “homey atmosphere”. That, and the loaf of bread baking in my bread machine (I’m telling the truth about that!) I’ll have to post my 2 favorite bread machine recipes another time.

The best thing about this recipe was that I had everything in my pantry. Today I don’t but yesterday I did.

I promise my next blog post won’t be as confusing.

Here is the recipe for Creamy Tomato Soup.

-Recipe courtesy of King Arthur Flour

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, National Food Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to National Homemade Soup Day – February 4 – Creamy Tomato Soup

  1. PJ Hamel says:

    Amy, those photos are beautiful – both of them. Thanks for showcasing our soup in such a lovely way. And glad your husband liked it – it’s totally one of my favorites, too. A couple of big, crunchy croutons on top are always a bonus… PJ Hamel, King Arthur Flour baker/blogger

Leave a Reply

