Easy to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

This stuff is goooooood! And it’s so easy to make. Seriously.

To make it, you only need 4 ingredients.

Strawberry Freezer Jam

  • 2 pints of Strawberries
  • 4 cups of Sugar
  • 1 box Pectin (I happen to like Sure Jell)
  • 3/4 cup of Water

A strawberry huller helps. I got this one from Pampered Chef, but it’s not a must have. I got one because it killed my fingertips, pulling the hulls out. I’ve got to get more fingertip strength.

Strawberry Freezer Jam

The potato masher makes easy work of crushing the strawberries.

Strawberry Freezer Jam

I also like to use my large pot with a wide, flat bottom and high sides. I put it in the sink to get some leverage on the berries.
Mash the berries until they’re nice, not-to-small and not-to-large, pieces.

Strawberry Freezer Jam

This is the strawberry action shot. I had to include it because it is evidence I can do two things at once. Mash berries and take a photo at the same time.

Strawberry Freezer Jam

When the berries are mashed up pretty good add 4 cups of sugar. Mix the sugar and berries well and let sit for 10 minutes; stir occasionally.

While the berries are sitting, combine the pectin with 3/4 cup of water. I love this little sauce pan. It used to belong to John’s mother. Though I never met her, I think of her every time I use one of her pans and am thankful that John’s sister, Melanie, passed them on to me.

Strawberry Freezer Jam

After taking this photo, I made sure I had 3/4 cup of water…you must measure exactly.

Strawberry Freezer Jam

Bring the pectin and water to a boil on high heat. Boil for one minute stirring constantly. Remove from the heat.

Stir the pectin mixture into the berries and stir constantly until the sugar is completely dissolved.

Strawberry Freezer Jam

It looks a little foamy, but it works out somehow.

You should use clean containers with tight fitting lids. Use 1 – 2 cup sized containers. This batch made 4 containers. But only 3 made it into the photo in time.

Strawberry Freezer Jam

Fill the containers with about 1/2 from the top to allow for expansion in the freezer and cover. Set them in a nice quiet place for the next 24 hours until set. You can store in the freezer for 1 year. I’ve never had a batch last that long.

Strawberry Freezer Jam

Admire them as they sit. You deserve it. Your family will love you. The color of the jam is so beautiful and red. The store bought stuff has kind of a cooked color to it. It’s hard to describe. Do a taste test with store bought and your home-made freezer jam. Your freezer jam will win!

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Filled Twinkies « madeitlikeamy

Leave a Reply

