The 2011 Lunar Eclipse

Finally! I have time to post a little about our 2011 Lunar Eclipse adventure.

My friend Wendy and I talked about the eclipse for a few days. We decided we would meet at a spot in San Francisco near the Cliff House restaurant. It turned out to be an excellent location.

John and I woke up at 3:30 AM to get there in time for the eclipse. We put on long johns, long sleeved shirts, warm coats, gloves, hats – we didn’t know what to expect being so close to the ocean.

When we arrived, there was no one there. We found a place to park and carried the camera gear down to the spot. The eclipse had already begun. Within 15 minutes after our arrival, we had about 3 other people show up, all speaking Chinese, who set up on either side of us. They had quite a few nice lenses! They were so friendly, they allowed us to look through their lenses and see such detail on the moon.

A few weeks before I had purchased a Manfrotto tripod from Craigslist and I am so thankful I did! It was so nice to be able to take photos without the camera drifting after making adjustments. My remote also came in handy – without both of these items, I don’t think the pictures would have turned out as well.

My first photo caught the “moon river” on the ocean. It was so peaceful, the sound of the water and the beautiful full moon.

Moon

The next few photos were taken at manual intervals, but with each passing moment, the camera had to be adjusted.

Here’s a composite photo I made using Photoshop. I took different photos of each phase and placed them together so you could see how the eclipse progressed.

2011Composite_12

Here’s my photo of the eclipse with the red moon! It was so amazing to see it change from the white moon, to the shadowed moon to the red moon.

IMG_7505_1

After coming home, taking a nap, and becoming coherent again, I took the photos and placed them in a diagonal and sent a link to Space.com. They selected the photo below to become one of their wallpapers for the eclipse.

Diagonal

As the moon started to head toward the horizon, the fog started to come in. I got in one last photo using the bulb setting on my camera. This setting keeps the shutter open for as long as the shutter button is pressed.

LunarEclipse2011

This day was a spectacular memory. God, who made the heavens and the earth, sets the planets into motion. It makes you feel very small.

Psalm 8:1, 3-4
LORD, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth! You have set your glory in the heavens.
When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is mankind that you are mindful of them, human beings that you care for them?

After we finished taking our photos we went to Louis Diner. It was not as good as I had hoped, but the food was hot and the company was good. What a blessing! What more could you ask for?

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

