Arrival in the night

My relationship with my father goes back my whole life 🙂

We’ve gone through some very difficult times and it’s difficult to understand why he’s here at my house. Maybe it’s because I’m his only child and only living relative in the United States. I don’t know whether he’s telling the truth about why he’s here or fabricating a lie but I do know one thing – he has cancer.

He called me on Monday morning, 4 days before Christmas, just as I was leaving for work and told me he would be coming up in a few hours because he didn’t trust the doctors in Southern CA. By evening he hadn’t arrived and he didn’t call to let us know what was going on. We went to bed and I just assumed it was like it was when I was a kid. He’d tell me he was coming but he’d never show up. I’d sit by the window watching car after car pass by. My mother would tell me that he wasn’t coming but I wouldn’t believe her. Of course, she was right but then I’d get mad at her for telling me while at the same time angry at him for not showing up.

I woke up at 1:30 and looked in the driveway thinking maybe he would drive up and sleep in his car so he wouldn’t wake us, but the driveway was empty. I sat up until about 4:00 AM and checked the driveway again before I got back in bed. Empty.

I crawled back into bed and fell back to sleep just before the alarm went off.

John woke up and went to feed the dog and make coffee. He came back into the room and said, “There’s a car in the driveway.” I took a shower and got dressed and went outside.

I tapped on the window and my father got out of the car. He looked very thin but he was wearing a suit and tie.

This entry was posted in Family, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

